Recently I decided that the best thing for me next year, financially and spiritually is to apply to be a Resident Assistant (RA). As I was doing the application today, I came to a section that asked me to create a youtube video explaining what I think the meaning of John 1:1-5 is and how I could apply that to my life. So I thought, instead of thinking of this on the spot I could study this and write it down here so you can think about how it applies to your life as well.

The verses say:

1 In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was with God in the beginning. 3 Through him all things were made; without him nothing was made that has been made. 4 In him was life, and that life was the light of men. 5 The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it.

“In the beginning was the Word,” this is simply stating that the word already was in the beginning. The word is the activity that took place before creation was created. To me it sounds like before everything the word was already there. Before everything was Him. “And the word was with God, and the word was God.” The word is a literal thing, the word is God but the word is also God breathed. This verse goes all the way back to the very first verse of the bible, Genesis 1:1, “In the beginning…” In one commentary that I was reading, they were explaining the definition of “The word.” Today, we see words as things we use to communicate and to issue commands. The idea is that Jesus is called the word strictly because He is what God used to communicate His will to us through. That is something that I have never thought about before. I always use the phrase God’s word or His word and never think that it literally translates to Jesus. His works and His words are the perfect thoughts and words of God. One other thing about this verse is that hardly anything changes from version to version. It stays the same because this is the only way you can say it.

This next verse, “He was with God in the beginning,” exemplifies the idea that Jesus is the Word. Jesus was in the beginning, before creation, before life and death and sin. This seems to be creating some kid of relationship between the two. The ‘with’ in this verse shows us that they are and were together, father and son. It seems silly to phrase it that way though, a relationship between Jesus and God, this sort of eternal union is unfathomable.

“Through Him, all things were made; without Him nothing was made that has been made.” Let’s think about this logically, all things. I mean all things is a lot of things, it’s is a crazy amount of things. I think when I think of God creating things, I think about Genesis, where he created the heavens and the earth and so on but to think, everything in existence, from the stars and galaxies that we don’t know about to the center of the earth. To the desk that my computer is resting on to the palm trees outside my window. Everything that I can see, in existence, came from God. Can I get and Amen and a WOW. That is a lot of stuff. My God is an awesome God.

“In Him was life, and that life was the light of men.” God is the source of all life. Without Him, I would not be sitting here, heart beating, breathing air, I would be without life. Everything in this universe that has life was created by God and without Him we would be nonexistent. This also inspires me to shine this light and life. To share His light and His life is to share the good news of the gospel which is what He asks of us. His light could also be thought of as wisdom and happiness. His gospel gives us wisdom for the future and how to live our lives.

“The light shines in the darkness, but the darkness has not understood it.” In another translation, this verse says that the darkness cannot extinguish the light. I think this is such a powerful statement. God’s light, our light, can’t ever be extinguished. His light can’t ever be taken away from us by any power or thing. I also love that the light shines in the darkness. No matter how dark things may be or the world may be, His light, our light, can’t ever be extinguished. The darkness doesn’t understand the light. It’s like saying Satan, does not understand the full power of Christ and the power we have through Christ. The darkness is scared of the light.

The second part of this question asks how this scripture applies to my life and how I think that it impacts me. It honestly took a lot of thought to answer this question. The first thing that popped into my head was letting our light shine. Ironically enough, I though of the song you learn in Sunday school “This little light of mine.” This song is so simple but so cleanly and plainly explains verse 5. The chorus of the song is the simple, “This little light of mine, I’m going to let it shine,” and so on. But the three different verses are what struck me when I looked it up. The first one, talks about hiding it under a bushel. In plain english and bible definition, bushel is defined as a term of measurement. But in some scripture it is also referred to as or like a basket or bowl. It is interesting to me, all of the scripture that I found containing bushel not used to describe a measurement, also contained hiding a light.

Matthew 5:15 – “Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.”

Mark 4:21 – “And he said unto them, Is a candle brought to be put under a bushel, or under a bed? and not to be set on a candlestick?”

Luke 11:33 – “No man, when he hath lighted a candle, putteth it in a secret place, neither under a bushel, but on a candlestick, that they which come in may see the light.”

We are to keep our light shining, no measure of darkness is to cover our light. If we are using bushel as measurements or as a basket, either way, we are to not let it cover light. We are to shine the light so that everyone in the room or house or the world can see.

The next different verse says, “Don’t let satan blow it out, I’m going to let it shine.” This one seems kind of self explanatory but I also think about how everyday, I let sin penetrate me. I let myself succumb to my sinful nature and in some way I can see Satan playing with the flame on my candle. I know, because my God is an indestructible flame that satan will never be able to blow it out, but that doesn’t mean that I am perfect. I give into temptation and sin, but as the verse says, darkness cannot extinguish the light.

The last different verse of this song says, “Let it shine till Jesus comes, I’m going to let it shine.” This I think is the most powerful out of the three. He is coming back, there is no denying this. He wants us to pursue Him but He also wants us to spread His word like wildfire. So maybe satan blowing on that candle is a good thing, maybe the candle or person next to us will catch fire and Christ will set a passion in that person’s heart. I think that it is good for satan to attack me because it just makes my relationship with Jesus that much stronger. Knowing that satan cannot get past His defenses gives me strength. It gives me courage and hope for that future of Jesus coming back.

So I guess in a nutshell, this verse shows me to shine, brighter than ever before. To be a leader and spread the word of Christ like wildfire. Jesus is life and his life is His light which He has entrusted us with. He has given us the honor of spreading his word and doing it with a passion.

Mark 16:15 – “And He said to them, ‘Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.” That’s what I see in this verse and in John 1. I see instructions, I see a fire, I see passion, and most of all I see love. I see the love of Christ, how much He loves us and how much He wants us to share His love with others.

So go out with a fiery passion and spread His light like wildfire.

Leave a Reply

