My mom, dad and I, had a long conversation while I was home for Christmas break about the upcoming year and what it would be like to actually live our lives for Christ. My mom suggested the idea to come up with a word to theme our year around and study as we learn more about Jesus. I, over the past few months and last year, have been living with the word submit. I like to think that I know what it truly means to submit to the Lords teachings and word but there is always so much more. I think this year, submitting to Jesus is what I am going to do.

Submit – to give over or yield to the power or authority of another. This is how the dictionary defines the word submit. It is interesting to me that a non theological mind, defines this word in the way they do. The word literally means to give up or over authority and power in both a Christian and non Christian sense. 

When I think of giving up power I think of surrendering. In the same way I need to submit, I am surrendering myself to the works of the Lord.  Surrender is defined as – to yield (something) to the possession or power of another; deliver up possession of on demand or under duress. This is almost the exact same thing as the definition of submit. They both are giving up something to a greater or different power. 

Submission is about trust. It is about falling in love with Christ so deeply, you want and choose to give up everything for Him.

Proverbs 3:5-6 – Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.

All your heart, all your ways. You must trust in Him completely and acknowledge Him in everything that you do. There is no ifs, ands or buts about it.

In my own heart, I know I need to submit everything. It might not always be the easiest thing to give every single thing to Him but it is what He asks of us. It makes me think of my mama always telling me, go to Him in the good times, go to Him in the bad times. Rejoice in His love no matter what you are going through. Even though often times we are indoctrinated with this “cliche christian phrase,” it is the basis of faith. Often times we forget that no matter where we are, what we are doing, what sport we are playing, what death we are facing, what food we are eating, or whatever situation that may be in our paths, we should be giving everything to God.

The hardest part of submitting for me, is peace for the future. I feel as though I am constantly worried about where I will be, who I will marry how many kids I will have, what career I will be in and so on. I put God in this box. A box that has no wiggle room, as if He can’t provide for me. I decide that I know better, I can decide what my life is going to be or not going to be and I don’t rely on His faithfulness. The hardest thing for me this year is going to be the future. Not knowing what is to coming or not even having a solid plan for what is to come scares me, but I know my God has a plan, I just have to remember that.

I hate the “new year, new me” stuff, but in this case, I hope to be diligent in Gods word an His plan for my life. I hope that this becomes more than just a new years resolution, that I find more than just half an hour to carve out for him and spend every moment that I can studying and falling more in love with Jesus. I hope that I can submit my entire life to the love of God and have no regret about it.

 

One thought on “Submit.

  1. Jeremiah 29:11-13 NASB
    11. ‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘ plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope. 12. ‘Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. 13. You will seek Me and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.
    This scripture has helped me to remember my part in this relationship with Christ.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

