While I was at a long day of work today, I got a break around 11 am. I sat down to eat my lunch and prayed for my food before I ate. When I opened my eyes, I raised my head to multiple pairs of eyes staring at me and I wondered what was so intriguing that they had to stare? Did it offend them, were they impressed because they didn’t have the bravery to do it themselves, or did they have some greater issue with it?

I was looking for some inspiration to stay strong in my prayer and in the word of God and I found the verse John 15:7 – “If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done.” For some reason, I was ashamed today. I was ashamed about praying in front of other people especially people I didn’t know. Some part of me thinks that praying in public as an unintentional and subtle way of sharing the gospel. I pray one day that someone will come up to me and ask me why I a, praying or what I am doing.

The verse John 15:7 gives me hope. It gives me hope that good things are to come and that God doesn’t want to cause us any harm. Now God doesn’t say, do whatever you want to do, commit every sin you can and disobey our Creator and I will give you whatever you want. He asks us to be good and faithful servants. He knows that we are sinners, and that we mess up from time to time, but if we are faithful to him then He will grant our requests.

Matthew 6:6 also says, “But when you pray, go into your room and shut the door and pray to your Father who is in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.” Pray to the father in secret, the Bible tells us to have our own personal relationship with the father. There is a time to have strength in numbers, to use the advantage of other believers, but we are urged to cry out to Jesus on our own. I love knowing that he already knows my thoughts. He knows my deepest desires and my prayers but He still asks that we talk to him and pray to him.

One of my lasts thoughts of the day is Matthew 26:41, “Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” This verse reminds me of the song by Hillsong Untied called oceans. The first two verses of the song say, “You call me out upon the waters the great unknown where feet may fail and there I find You in the mystery in oceans deep my faith will stand. And I will call upon Your name, and keep my eyes above the waves, when oceans rise my soul will rest in Your embrace, for I am Yours and You are mine.” There is a reoccurring theme in this, the flesh is weak, we as humans are weak. The only way to make us strong is to confide in the word. When we feel out of place or sinful, we must call upon the name of the Lord and ask for strength. I fully believe that God will grant us that strength when we need it most. He will be there in all times, happy and sad, all we need to do is ask.

Leave a Reply

