Today I was running on the treadmill at my gym, watching Criminal Minds (great show by the way), and I was thinking a lot about this blog and the ideas I have for it and the purpose behind it. I want to study Gods word so often and so deeply that it becomes my life and I don’t have to “fit it in” to my schedule. I want to pursue Him always.

While running, I closed my eyes to pray. I have to admit, probably not the smartest thing to do while on a treadmill but I am alive right now so we are just going to let it slide. Again I found myself praying for peace and guidance. This past week being home for the holidays has been pretty stressful and active as I worked almost forty hours last week, did lots of Christmas shopping, and spent every other moment with my family.

It is hard to come home to something that isn’t necessarily normal anymore and come to the realization that it will never be normal again. This has been one of the biggest areas of struggle in my life recently is why did I go so far away from the things and people I love the most. Don’t get me wrong, I love GCU and I wouldn’t trade my experiences and the people I have met for anything in the world, but I can’t help but wonder if I made the right decision leaving my safe and beloved Colorado. I know God has a purpose for this, I know that I am where I am supposed to be in this very moment.

On Sunday, we talked about puzzles. There was a metaphor about our lives and how each day that we live and spend and do things with is a piece of a puzzle. Now as we are walking through life, we are trying to piece this puzzle together. Piecing our lives together without God is like putting together the puzzle without the puzzle box or without knowing what the puzzle looks like. Pretty useless. When we ask God to help us piece together our puzzle it is like being able to see the whole picture, the puzzle box top so that you know what it is supposed to look like. Jesus tells us that he is THE way, THE truth, and THE light. The one and only king. He has the ability and the great pleasure of revealing our box top to us if we surrender to His purpose for our lives.

1 Arise, shine, for your light has come,
    and the glory of the Lord rises upon you.
See, darkness covers the earth
    and thick darkness is over the peoples,
but the Lord rises upon you
    and his glory appears over you.”

Isaiah 60:1-2

MacLaren says something interesting about this. “Shine, for thy light is come.’ If we have light, we are light. If we are light, we shall shine; but the shining is not altogether spontaneous and effortless. Stars do not need to be bidden to shine nor candles either; but we need the exhortation, because there are many things that dim the brilliance of our light and interfere with its streaming forth.”

I love that he says, we are light. This brings us all the way back to Genesis 1:27 talking about how God created man in his own image and likeness. Because God created us, and through accepting His grace, we are light. God tells us that He is the light of the world, this perfect being, yet somehow we have His light. He has given us the opportunity to be His light. He also tells us that we are not given permission or magically granted the ability to shine our light, we already have it. God has already given us that through his death on the cross.

Isn’t this a crazy concept? God loves us so much that he gave his only son. He created us in the likeness of himself, at first perfect, but ravaged with sin, yet despite that, He still loves us the same. There is nothing to describe His love other than agape. This is the kind of love that only Christ can feel and display, we are unable to feel this kind of love.

I am impressed that you have made it this far and I am sure that once I go back and read this later I will see that it jumps all over the place and could quite possibly be just mumbo jumbo. But here is the thing, God and His word come without reservations, judgements, fears, or regret. My heart is on fire for my one and only savior and this is the way that I am going to share it.

Peace and Blessings to you all

Merry Christmas, Alex

Leave a Reply

