Hello everyone and Alex,

Today is Sunday December 20th, 2015 and I am writing to you from my home in Centennial, Colorado. I went to church this morning and fell in love with the message that was being taught. I have been going to church for all of my life, definitely had some rough patches in life, but I know that church, and Jesus, have never failed to be there. During my communion today, I was praying. I prayed for peace and guidance and most of all, purpose. There are a few things in my life I know for sure, but I am not clear on what God’s purpose for me is. I prayed for clarity and the hope for knowledge to know when God was giving me a piece of His bigger puzzle. As I was praying, God intervened and gave me a feeling. Its not a feeling that I can describe in words necessarily, but a feeling that I needed to do something. All of my life, it has been a goal of mine to live for Jesus which I think I do a pretty good job of considering that I am a sinner and far from perfect. But it got me thinking. Living for Jesus means sharing the good news of the gospel to lost and broken souls. I have tried my very hardest in life to share this good news, but have kind of put my personal relationship with Christ on a back burner. I think, that feeling was telling me, God was telling me, pursue me Alex. Pursue my heart and my glory, and the rest will surely follow. I know that in order to get to heaven, all we need to do is repent, ask forgiveness of our sins, and follow Him, but I want more. Today made me realize I need more. My life has far to easily become about the world. My social media accounts, what peoples opinions of me are, what clothes I should be wearing, and so on. But I realized this morning, that is NOT what this life is about. The man on the pulpit today used this quote from Jim Carrey, “I wish that everyone could become rich and famous and do everything they ever dreamed of so they could see that it is NOT the answer.” This struck me, and struck me hard. I am chasing money and approval and idols that I shouldn’t be. I should be falling at the feet of Jesus saying, I know that I have messed up, I know that I am unworthy, I know that I am a sinner and a foul one at that, but choose me and love me. I want to know you more and more and my heart is yearning for yours. I cannot live without you. I can live without everything in this world, but not without you.

Today, I choose to pursue Jesus. I choose to put everything on the line, out in the open so that I can have Jesus. I give up my life, I surrender everything for Him. HE is my rock, HE is my savior, HE is the light of the world.

Today I choose to start this blog, not as a New Year’s resolution or because of a “Jesus high.” Today I choose to follow him and pursue Him and share that with everyone that I can, so that you too can pursue Him, you too can see and feel the depth of His love. Today I hope you can join me in living whole heartedly for the one true king.

Leave a Reply

